A History of the Best Picture Oscar Part III


One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest – 1976

The powerful, yet ultimately tragic story of Jack Nicholson’s Randle “Mac” McMurphy who pleads insanity to escape labor duties in prison and is admitted to a mental institution, where he rebels against Louise Fletcher’s tyrannical nurse Ratched and tries to insight a patients revolution, many of which were actual mental patients instead of extras.

Louise Fletcher was so disturbed by her own performance that she couldn’t watch the film for years.

This Miloš Forman directed film was only the second to win all five major Academy Awards (Best Picture, Actor in Lead Role, Actress in Lead Role, Director and Screenplay) following It Happened One Night in 1934, an accomplishment not repeated until 1991 with The Silence of the Lambs.


«1 ... 1516 17 1819 ... 21»

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.